Blog Tour Review: The Duke’s Runaway Bride by Jenni Fletcher

Hi all!

My name is Chiara and I am a Bookworm.

It’s been weeks since I read this book and I’ve been waiting, rather impatiently, to tell you all about it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Disclaimer: The Waterstones links below are affiliate links meaning that, at no extra cost to you, I earn a small commission on any purchases made.

The Duke’s Runaway Bride by Jenni Fletcher

Regency Belles of Bath #3

Publisher: Mills & Boon

Date Published: 18th February 2021

Format: ebook

Pages: 288 (words: ~67k)

Genre: Historical Romance

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨ (3 and half stars)

Trigger Warning: Blackmail from former relationship

Blurb

From shopkeeper… To Duke’s wife

When Beatrix, Duchess of Howden, writes to her estranged husband offering a divorce, she’s stunned when he arrives on her doorstep with a different proposition: a six-week marriage trial! Quinton Roxbury seems cold and inscrutable, but Beatrix gradually realises his rough exterior hides a heavy burden. As their connection deepens, dare she trust him with her own scandalous past and risk the marriage she never knew she wanted?

My Thoughts

I want to begin by saying that I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion. Thank you, once again for the copy.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was everything I have been craving in a book recently. A heated romance, with strong characters not afraid to say what they want. I breezed through it in only one sitting, which in a few ways made it feel a little short. I seemed to go from A to B in no time at all, but then again that may be my reading speed. For me, the main thing that made it feel shorter was the lack of obstacles for our characters. I felt like there needed to be more between them, not that there wasn’t plenty for them to clamber over already for them to get to each other, but I wanted more.

I loved the characters. Beatrix and Quinton have very strong personalities, but so do our supporting characters. I can find strong supporting characters a fine line to balance, but Fletcher seemed to walk it quite well. They were bold independent characters that didn’t upstage our main players. Helen in particular captured my heart. She was so sweet and cute and a very obvious opposite to her older sister. I feel sorry for Quinton when he had to deal with his siblings.

I am incredibly curious to see what happened in the books preceding this. I didn’t feel like a missed too much by starting with book 3 but there was a lot hinted at, and a few characters that I probably would have known more about if I had read book 1 and 2 first. But the unknown is just calling my name and I will have to dive in to the other books soon.

If you love a good romance I can’t recommend this more. Perfect for fans of Bridgerton. It really satisfies that Bridgerton cravings while we are waiting for series 2.

The Author

Jenni Fletcher was born in Scotland and now lives in Yorkshire where she writes historical romance novels ranging from the Roman to late Victorian eras. She studied English at Cambridge and Hull and has been nominated for 4 RoNA awards, winning for Short Romantic Fiction in 2020. She teaches Creative Writing at a university in the north of England and her favourite hobbies are baking and, of course, reading.

Find her on:

Twitter | Facebook

Buy the book at:

Amazon UK | Amazon US | Waterstones | Kobo | WHSmiths

1 thought on “Blog Tour Review: The Duke’s Runaway Bride by Jenni Fletcher”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s